Oh, the people you’ll meet!


For my birthday on April 19th, my mom and I went to the American Craft Council Show in St. Paul. We had a lovely time visiting with the vendors and feasting our eyes on their wares. We saw unique and beautiful handcrafted items—from jewelry, to clothing, to furniture and decorations—in almost every kind of medium: wood, clay, leather, metal, precious stones, antiques and historical artifacts, glass, wool…you name it!

Many of the artists had a special tent-card on their booth with the words Green Craft proudly displayed. Naturally, my eyes gravitated toward those little green signs. I had the pleasure of meeting and befriending many of these artists, and the common refrain I heard was they’ve been green for years! Until recently, they hadn’t even thought twice about promoting that aspect of their business, simply because it’s been part of their work long before it was de rigeur. They shared with me their processes and the types of materials they use. They also explained that the green aspects of their work have been implemented largely because it just made sense, from a business aspect, as well as from an aesthetic point-of-view.

Stay tuned: I will be sharing with you my wonderful encounters with these talented crafters and how their works truly embody the essence of Green Design.

Comments
One Response to “Oh, the people you’ll meet!”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Janne were the first Green Crafters I met at the American Craft Council Show in St. Paul (see: Oh, the people you’ll meet!). Humble, approachable, absolutely likable. Those were my first impressions of Bill and […]



Leave a Reply

