Under the Boardwalk


So many iconic images come to mind when I think of the Fourth of July: The Declaration of Independence, fireworks, beer and BBQ, apple pie and the list goes on and on. Lately, with all the Turner Classic Movies on TV, my mind drifts back to a nostalgic period in American history; a time of great innovation as well as change and uncertainty. I often wonder what it would’ve been like to be on Coney Island in the 1940s, enjoying the amusement park, eating a corn dog, and strolling down the boardwalk arm in arm with a high school sweetheart.

“The design is inspired by the duality of Coney Island—its whimsical, colorful summers and melancholy winters.”

Uhuru, a Brooklyn-based furniture design company dedicated to sustainability and local craftsmanship, recently announced its new limited-edition Coney Island Line, crafted of reclaimed wood and metal from the demolished iconic boardwalk. The Ipe wood, first installed on the boardwalk in the late 1940’s, has weathered in the sun, salt and snow for over 70 years.

The pieces artfully combine seasonal layers of paint, old-fashioned architectural influences and hardware from the 1940s. The line consists of six limited edition pieces and only ten of each design. All of Uhuru‘s crafts are built by hand in their Red Hook Brooklyn studio. Their furniture utilizes reclaimed, recycled, repurposed, reused or otherwise rejected materials.

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I have not received any compensation for writing this post. I have no material connection to the brands, products, or services that I have mentioned. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Comments
2 Responses to “Under the Boardwalk”
  1. Mary Smith says:

    It was certainly interesting for me to read this article. Thanx for it. I like such topics and everything that is connected to them. I definitely want to read a bit more on that blog soon. BTW, pretty nice design you have here, but don’t you think design should be changed once in a few months?

    Mary Smith

    • gabyingreen says:

      Hi Mary,

      Thanks for your comment! I’m glad you stopped by and enjoyed the article. I really liked writing it myself! Im glad you are interested in the blog, and I do hope you come back to visit often. You can even register on the homepage to receive updates on new posts via email!

      Funny you should mention about the design: I am actually in the process of redesigning the entire blog, from top to bottom! New look, new color, and most definitely an awesome logo. I have also purchased my own domain and will eventually move the blog to my own site. In the meantime, I would love to know your thoughts for the new design.

      Stay tuned: The world just got a little greener!
      Gaby in Green

Leave a Reply

